My Morning Smoothie… and other tidbits about food.

Well, I took a week off from making my morning smoothie, and it really sucked yesterday morning. Apparently, I forgot something, but for the love of pete… I cannot figure out what I forgot. So I started thinking maybe I need to switch it up – so I am searching for a few new morning smoothie recipes to try. I have to be able to add flax seed to them – and since I purchased 5 bananas yesterday the smoothies need to have bananas.  I am also looking for a good protein powder, if you have any recommendations, I would love to hear them.

Here are 2 recipes that I am going to add into my mornings:

Green Monster Smoothie

1 banana, roughly chopped
4 or 5 strawberries
1/2 cup fresh blueberries
1 small peach, peeled and roughly chopped
1 heaping cup (or more) fresh spinach leaves, thoroughly rinsed
splash vanilla soy milk
1 tablespoon Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons honey
1/2 cup crushed ice

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve immediately. *this recipe makes a very large smoothie.

Recipe source: Sing For Your Supper original

Orange, Banana and Pineapple Smoothie


2 bananas
1 cup of fresh pineapple
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 1/2 cups ice
2 tablespoons of honey
Place all of your ingredients in a blender and blend away until ice is crushed.

I will need to add protein powder to this one I think.. Otherwise all those natural sugars in the fruit will cause me to want to go to sleep at around 2pm!

Pasted from Val So Cal

I have also been really wanting some good make ahead breakfast items.. Last night I wiped up some Egg Muffins. I found a recipe on Kalyns Kitchen and revised it in order to use items in my kitchen.

Egg Muffins (Makes 6-8 muffins)

8 eggs
Montreal Steak Seasoning.. (Like Rachel Ray.. I use this seasoning for just about anything)
1-2 cups grated low fat cheese (I used Sharp Cheddar and Mozzarella)
Crumbled Breakfast sausage (I use pre-cooked)
Chopped Spinach
Note: You can add just about anything to these.. Seriously – Onion, Mushroom, Brocolli.. Etc..

Preheat oven to 350 F.
Use regular or silicone muffin pan. If using silicone pan, spray with nonstick spray. If using regular muffin pan, put two paper liners into each slot, then spray liner with nonstick spray.

In the bottom of the muffin cups layer diced meat, if using, vegetables, if using, cheese and green onions. You want the muffin cups to be about 2/3 full, with just enough room to pour a little egg around the other ingredients. Break eggs into large measuring bowl with pour spout, add Spike, and beat well. (I used to add a bit of half and half or milk, but lately I like the way they turn out without it.) Pour egg into each muffin cup until it is 3/4 full. I like to stir slightly with a fork. Bake 25-35 minutes until muffins have risen and are slightly browned and set.

Muffins will keep more than a week in the refrigerator.
Bake for about 15 minutes – keep close watch on these so they don’t get to brown.
Microwave on high about 2 minutes to reheat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love weeks when I feel like I filled my body and the Captains body with good healthy food. I worry constantly about feeding him well and making sure he’s getting all that he needs. And I LOVE being domestic well.. at least in the kitchen. I know the hubs would LOVE if I felt like cleaning and laundry were more domestic jobs…. woops. That’s on the list for later this week. I promise!

This week, I tried making 2 big meals to eat from all week. So last night I made a huge Tuna Noodle Casserole (recipe and pics to come), and tomorrow night I will be making pasta with turkey meatballs. That’s a lot of pasta in a week, and that’s not real normal for us.. but I really tried to choose meals that would be cheap and easy and good to reheat. I am happy to report that the TNC did not disappoint today at lunch – and we will be eating it for dinner too.. however, its going to be more of a side dish tonight and supplement with some left over chicken!

What are your favorite weeknight meals?

Will you share a recipe?

Chao for now!

Leave a Reply

