My brain is going 1 million miles an hour….

So I am having one of those days, where my brain is racing faster then I can actually get it all accomplished. I blame the Captain, he woke up at 4:30 – and wanted to party.. hubs and I were both up pretty quickly after that! This was him on the way to daycare.. wish it was me..

But today’s post is going to focus (hopefully) on home improvements..

So hubs and I purchased a lovely house in October of 2010. I love my house, really I love it. It’s way too big for us and the Captain for now.. but I love it all the same. However, the longer I live in said lovely abode – the more I start to realize that there are rooms I really want to make over. Not rebuild or tear apart – just paint and add new lights maybe an accessory or two. The problem is that we did SO much to our old house to get it ready to sell, that I am having a hard time talking hubs into it. Plus, it costs money and time. For some reason the dining room has become my least favorite room in the house (I really wish I had a photo, but I don’t – maybe I will try and get one tonight…). So here is the list of things I would like to do:

  • Take the chair rail down
  • Make the doorway between the dining room and kitchen smooth. Currently, it still looks like a door should be hanging there
  • Fill in holes, sand, painting
  • New light
  • Artwork
  • New Curtain

Here is my inspiration for this room:
 

Obviously, there are things in all these rooms that I don’t want, or can’t have (brick wall) but a combination of these images would make me happy. Our kitchen is a mustard yellow with brown glaze finish (sounds kind of ugg.. but it’s not – it’s lovely.).. similar to this – but with textured plaster walls:

So I need to come up with a color for the dining room – I’m leaning towards a tealish blue color. The lights from image 2 – white washing the current table we have, and using dark velvety curtains (target has great ones).. maybe a dark purple or even black. I am in love with these types of signs – I found this on Etsy – and you can customize them. I saw a similar on in a local restaurant with Kansas City streets, and that’s what I want.
I would hang this on one of the east walls – and will either have my good friend paint me a painting or I will attempt to do the same for the North wall. So this finishes out the dining room.
The other rooms I would like to work on are the finishing touches to our bedroom, and the small kitchen off the bath. I am currently pulling ideas and pinning things to my Pinterest – I will post inspiration boards as soon as I have them. Hopefully we can talk the hubs into a couple small projects.

What projects are you working on?
mindy.

Leave a Reply

