So much on my mind..

So, my mind is racing 1 freaking million miles an hour.. and lucky for you – I have thoughts I want to share!
Is it dumb to turn the crib into the toddler bed – thus purchasing more bedding – rather than just moving him into a “big” boy bed (not yet — but in the near future — I’m a planner people) – and purchasing that bedding. It really all revolves around bedding. I’m not pregnant (tears in my coffee) – but hope to be soon, and when he or SHE arrives than I will move him into his big boy bed – so do I wait? Why is this such a dilemma? Oh – because I want to decorate. dumb. I have been obsessed with this bedding from PB Kids – it’s plaid – and adorable – and I just found it in toddler bedding also..

  Toddler Room

Look at the cute little guy bedroom. I love it.
Thoughts? Comments?



Prydes of Old Westport

Yesterday, I wasn’t feeling well. Not only am I suffering from a terrible case of post nasal drip – but I was feeling extremely low and uncreative. So in order to give myself a little pick me up – I decided to go and wander around Prydes. I love Prydes – it’s crowed with stuff, sometimes it’s very expensive – sometimes it’s not. A little old lady offers you tea (which I happily accepted), and there’s so much to look at – and daydream about. I love expensive cooking tools – I love to cook! Having Thanksgiving at my house is a very exciting time for me. I can spend hours here. Unfortunately I only had about 40 minutes – so I wandered quickly. First upstairs with the gadgets, table runners and aprons. They have the largest All-Clad pot I have ever seen.. I picked up some local honey and some turkey timers – for $2! They had cute ones for $10 – but I went with the cheap! They have teas and cocoa – aprons and matching oven mits that are adorable and TONS of bake ware. Downstairs is full of glass and dinner ware – a huge room of Fiestaware – and a little pie shop called The Upper Crust. They have a room upstairs right when you walk in the door full of cookbooks – and I LOVE COOKBOOKS!  Anyway – if you’ve never been to Prydes – it’s worth the quick trip to Westport Road! It’s also a great place to buy me.. er anyone presents!  Here is a list of items that Pryde’s suggest for your Essential Kitchen – let’s see how many I own!

SMALL APPLIANCES
Food Processor – own
Standing Mixer – want
Blender – own

GADGETS
Bench Scraper – I don’t know what this is..
Grater/Zester – own
Pepper Mill – own
Fine-Mesh Strainer- want
Rubber Spatula – own
Tongs – own – one of my FAVORITE kitchen gadgets!!
Vegetable Peeler – own
Whisk – own
Salad Spinner – do not own.. don’t know if need..

COOKWARE
Roasting Pan – own
Skillet, 12-inch – own
Non-Stick Skillet, 12-inch – own
Dutch Oven – want.. a Le Creuset Signature Round Dutch Oven.. swoon!

CUTTING TOOLS
Chef’s Knife, 8-inch – own
Paring Knife – own
Serrated Knife – own
Cutting Board – own

MEASURING TOOLS:
Ingredients – own
Temperature – we have a grill thermometer – I guess that counts
Time – own

So I am close – I think my current NEEDS are a standing mixer (Black I think) and a Dutch Oven..

On a more solemn note.. The news has been depressing the crap out me lately – it makes me scared to let the Captain out of my site. All this news about child molestation and these men that are supposed to be pillars of the community. It kills me. We rode our bikes and played out of site of our parents every damn day in the summer from dusk till dawn – and no one, NO ONE, thought anything about it. I spent countless days at the pool with my sister – and no parent around! I cannot imagine letting the Captain walk 2 blocks out of my site right now. The whole thought of not knowing where he is at every second scares the bejeesus out of me. I can’t read anymore of the Penn State mess – It makes me literally sick to my stomach to think that guy did that – and all those other cowherds covered it up. SICK I TELL YOU!

I try everyday to be a better mom than I was yesterday. He’s in a hitting/kicking stage – which is so fun – and it wears on my patience – but I can make him giggle like no one else can, and that makes me smile and giggle a little too. He loves his daddy more than anyone right now too – it’s so freaking cute! When hubs isn’t around he walks around the house, checks the office and says daddy?? It’s so cute.

That’s all for now.. I’m sure you’re relieved!
I think after work – I am going to SPEED to pick up my peanut and hug him tight!

mindy.

 



2 thoughts on “So much on my mind..

  1. i love reading these mindy bc your voice really comes thru in your writing. very entertaining! we waited FOREVER to put taylor in her toddler/crib bed bc she wasnt trying to crawl out! she was over 3 years old i am embarrassed to say. but i will tell you, as soon as we took off the side of that crib, and she was free to get out of her bed whenever she wanted, our sleep has gone down hill. =) we did get her a big girl bed and new bedding (from pottery barn teen which is funny bc she’s 4) but we tried to hold out with just the toddlerbed set up, using the crib sheet and blankets for awhile. but the bedding you have picked out is so cute i can see why you wouldnt want to wait!! good luck =)

    • it’s funny, because, after I wrote this just yesterday – I quietly went into A’s room last night to make sure he was warm enough – and he had turned completely around and was right up against the crib.. and I thought – there is no way he is remotely close to having a toddler bed! Sooo.. that’s that, I guess. Now lets hope he doesn’t start climbing out – and he could be in there until he’s 18. He has started using his “blanky” has a pillow – is it ok to put a pillow in the crib?

Leave a Reply

